Brand New Me

It’s been a while.
I’m not who I was before.

You look surprised.
Your words don’t burn me anymore.

Been meanin’ to tell ya, but I guess it’s clear to see,
Don’t be mad
It’s just a brand new kind of me.
I found a brand new kind of free.

Careful with your ego.
He’s the one that we should blame.

Had to grab my heart back.
God knows something had to change.

I thought that you’d be happy.
I found the one thing I need.
Why you mad?
It’s just a brand new kind of me

It took a long time to get here
It took a brave girl to try

I’ve taken one too many excuses, one too many lies
Don’t be surprised. 

Don’t be surprised if I talk a little louder,
if I speak up when you’re wrong,
if I walk a little taller.
I’ve been under you too long.

If you notice that I’m different, don’t take it personally.
Don’t be mad
It’s just a brand new kind of me

If you were a friend, you’d wanna get to know me again.
If you were worth the while, you’d be happy to see me smile.

I’m not expecting sorry.
I’m too busy finding myself.

I got this. I found me.

I found me.

I don’t need your opinion
I’m not waiting for your “OK”

I’ll never be perfect,
but at least now I’m brave

Now my heart is open
I can finally breathe
Don’t be mad
It’s just a brand new kind of free
That ain’t bad
I found a brand new kind of me

Don’t be mad
It’s a brand new time for me.

Leave a Reply

