Parasite

You loved me the way my father loves my mother–obligatory and seasonal.

Like an exemplary, deserving employee waiting years for a promotion that may never come

But unlike my mother, I chose to leave.
To leave behind what suffocates me,
What silences my spirit,
What drains me.

Because I want a love that awakens me,
A love that is more concerned with “us” and “we,”
A love that fuels me,
A mutualistic love,

Where both parties are beneficiaries,
And no one is left empty.

Leave a Reply

