80 Sylvia Plath Quotes That Will Totally Validate Your Feelings

  1. God damn, I want to hoard the time with you like money. Each hour a savoring, an exquisite tasting of delight.
  2. I write only because there is a voice within me that will not be still.
  3. I am a victim of introspection.
  4. It is as if my life were magically run by two electric currents: joyous positive and despairing negative. Whichever is running at the moment dominates my life, floods it.
  5. So many people shut up tight inside themselves like boxes would open up, unfolding quite wonderfully, if only you were interested in them.
  6. I am so vulnerable suddenly.
  7. I cut you out because I couldn’t stand being a passing fancy.
  8. I am both worse and better than you thought.
  9. What horrifies me most is the idea of being useless: well-educated, brilliantly promising, and fading out into an indifferent middle age.
  10. I am so hungry for a big smashing creative burgeoning burdened love: I am here; I wait.
  11. I must bridge the gap between adolescent glitter and mature glow.
  12. Kiss me, and you will see how important I am.
  13. I am restless. Restless and useless.
  14. I have powerful physical, intellectual and emotional forces which must have outlets, creative, or they turn to destruction and waste.
  15. I must be lean and write and make worlds beside this to live in.
  16. I do not know who I am, where I am going – and I am the one who has to decide the answers to these hideous questions.
  17. My happiness streams from wrenching a piece out of my life, a piece of hurt & beauty, and transforming it to typewritten words on paper.
  18. I’m dramatic and sloppily semi-cynical and semi-sentimental.
  19. For me, the real issues of our time are the issues of every time — the hurt and wonder of loving; making in all its forms.
  20. I could not want him so much if I did not become so stimulated by his brilliant thinking mind.
  21. My consuming interest in men and their lives is often misconstrued as a desire to seduce them, or as an invitation to intimacy.
  22. I don’t know why I should be so hideously gloomy, but I have that miserable “nobody-loves-me” feeling.
  23. If you expect nothing from anybody, you’re never disappointed.
  24. I fell into bed again this morning, begging for sleep, withdrawing into the dark, warm, fetid escape from action, from responsibility.
  25. Life has been some combination of fairy-tale coincidence and joie de vivre and shocks of beauty together with some hurtful self-questioning.
  26. The most terrifying realization is that so many millions in the world would like to be in my place.
  27. I’m sarcastic, skeptical, and sometimes callous because I’m still afraid, deep down, of letting myself be hurt.
  28. I have never found anybody who could stand to accept the daily demonstrative love I feel in me, and give back as good as I give.
  29. The idea of a life gets in the way of my life.
  30. I like people too much or not at all. I’ve got to go down deep, to fall into people, to really know them.
  31. I can’t get outside myself.
  32. Let me gorge myself on your sensations and ideas.
  33. I may have all the answers to my questions in myself, but I need some catalyst to get them into my consciousness.
  34. Worse even than your maddening song, your silence.
  35. Every story, every incident, every bit of conversation is raw material for me.
  36. I wonder why I don’t go to bed and go to sleep. But then it would be tomorrow, so I decide I can skip an hour more of sleep and live.
  37. Next year I will not be the self of this year now. And that is why I laugh at the transient, the ephemeral.
  38. I must find a strong potential powerful mate who can counter my vibrant dynamic self: sexual and intellectual.
  39. I won’t call you darling: that would be cute. And I’m not being cute, not tonight.
  40. I am hypnotized by the workings of the individual, alone, and am continually using myself as a specimen.
  41. I wanted to be where nobody I knew could ever come.
  42. Here I am, a bundle of past recollections and future dreams, knotted up in a reasonably attractive bundle of flesh.
  43. Yes, I was infatuated with you: I am still. No one has ever heightened such a keen capacity of physical sensation in me.
  44. Whenever I’m sad I’m going to die, or so nervous I can’t sleep, or in love with somebody I won’t be seeing for a week, I go take a hot bath.
  45. I am drowning in negativism, self-hate, doubt, madness.
  46. In my moon suit and funeral veil, I am no source of honey.
  47. Write about your own experience. By that experience someone else may be a bit richer some day.
  48. After something happens to you, you either over dramatize it or underplay it, exaggerate the wrong parts or ignore the important ones.
  49. If I didn’t think, I’d be much happier.
  50. This could be heaven if we made it such.
  51. I didn’t know why I was going to cry, but I knew that if anybody spoke to me or looked at me too closely I’d cry for a week.
  52. I am jealous of those who think more deeply, who write better, who draw better, who look better, who live better, who love better than I.
  53. Someone, somewhere, can you understand me a little, love me a little?
  54. And when at last you find someone to whom you feel you can pour out your soul, you stop in shock at the words you utter.
  55. There is a certain unique and strange delight about walking down an empty street alone.
  56. I took a deep breath and listened to the old brag of my heart. I am, I am, I am.
  57. How I would like to believe in tenderness.
  58. Everybody has the same smiling frightened face that says, “I’m important. If you only get to know me, you will see how important I am.”
  59. Be stoic when necessary and write – you have seen a lot, felt deeply, and your problems are universal enough to be made meaningful – WRITE.
  60. I want so obviously, so desperately to be loved, and to be capable of love.
  61. Hurl yourself at goals above your head and bear the lacerations that come when you slip and make a fool of yourself.
  62. So learn about life. Cut yourself a big slice with the silver server, a big slice of pie. Open your eyes. Let life happen.
  63. I need someone to pour myself into.
  64. I desire the things that will destroy me in the end.
  65. Can a selfish, egocentric, jealous and unimaginative female write a damn thing worthwhile?
  66. There is a unique rightness and beauty to life which can be shared in openness with a human being who believes in the same basic principles.
  67. I deserve that, don’t I, some sort of blazing love that I can live with.
  68. I am dead to them, even though I once flowered.
  69. Before I give my body, I must give my thoughts, my mind, my dreams. And you weren’t having any of those.
  70. I don’t care about anyone, and the feeling is quite obviously mutual.
  71. I act and react, and suddenly I wonder “Where is the girl that I was last year? Two years ago? What would she think of me now?”
  72. I dream of talking to him again, under apple trees at night in the hills of orchards; talking; quoting poetry and making a good life.
  73. Writing makes me a small god: I re-create the flux and smash of the world through the small ordered word-patterns I make.
  74. At any rate, I admit that I am not strong enough, or rich enough, or independent enough, to live up in actuality to my ideal standards.
  75. There is something demoralizing about watching two people get more and more crazy about each other.
  76. I have much to live for, yet unaccountably I am sick and sad.
  77. I must get my soul back from you.
  78. God, I scream for time to let go, to write, to think.
  79. If I can write, I don’t care what happens.
  80. Perhaps when we find ourselves wanting everything, it is because we are dangerously close to wanting nothing.
Leave a Reply

